HomeThe museum> Who are we?

The Museum

One of a kind in Belgium thanks to its collections, the Museum of the Celts is right at the heart of the Province of Luxembourg, in a region that is home to a large number of fields containing Celtic tombs.

It opened in Libramont in June 1998 and houses the results of more than thirty years of excavations focusing on Celtic sites in the Ardennes.

The CRAA – Centre de Recherches Archéologiques en Ardenne (the Archaeological Research Centre in Ardennes)

It is the Centre de Recherches Archéologiques en Ardenne (CRAA) that set up and manages the Museum of the Celts.

The CRAA was founded in 1985 and is recognised as a not-for-profit organisation (“association sans but lucrative”, or asbl). Its goal is to promote the archaeological heritage of the Belgian Ardennes.

To this end, the Centre focuses on three main areas:

  • scientific research,
  • public information,
  • protecting our heritage.

The CRAA covers all periods from Prehistory to the Middle Ages, but its main field of interest is the Celtic era. The CRAA is first and foremost known for its extensive searches for Celtic “tombelles” in the Ardennes. This area of expertise, as well as a commitment to preserving archaeological finds, and making them available to the public, led the CRAA to open a museum dedicated to the Celts in June 1998.
This means that the Centre and the Museum are intrinsically linked.

Visions, ethics and goals

Through what we do, we want to raise the profile of the Celtic identity (know who they are, when and where they lived, the different populations of which they were made up etc.), as well as the heritage that they have passed down to us.

Vision for welcoming visitors

The Museum is easily accessible to schools and families, as well as anybody interested in finding out more about the Celts and the discoveries made in the Ardennes.

Ethics

To study the Celts, we use historic scientific methods, as well as archaeology. The latter, by definition, is based on studying physical remains. There are all sorts of different ways to interpret them, particularly in less tangible areas such as their mentality, beliefs and values.

We prefer to remember the limitations of our knowledge rather than extrapolating from inadequate foundations.

As well as this, since the 19th century, the image of “our ancestors, the Gauls”, has sometimes been used for political and nationalist ends: we feel that this kind of ideological misrepresentation is inappropriate.

Goals

As a Museum that is officially recognised by the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, our goals are as follows: acquiring collections, taking care of and preserving them, scientific research and disseminating information.

These are in keeping with the goals of the not-for-profit organisation.

The team

Véronique Hurt

Scientific research

Robert

Activities
Logistics

Florence

Strategic and day-to-day management / AI Curator
Promotion
Prevention – Health and Safety

Catherine

Accounts, administrative management
Shop
Group bookings

Julie

Education – Guide
Library
Events

Damien

IT and new technology support
Multimedia

Anne-Sophie

Curator’s Assistant
Education Assistant – Guide-Activities

Acknowledgements and support

The CRAA and the Museum are partially funded by the income generated by its activities.

However, on a financial level, the Libramont-Chevigny local authorities are keen to preserve their heritage, and so contribute a great deal. They have provided the building that houses the CRAA / Museum of the Celts, free of charge, and cover all the inherent costs. They also cover the costs (60% subsidised by the Communauté Française, now the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles) associated with setting up the Museum, and beyond. They also help with salaries and social security contributions for employees.

This partnership between the CRAA / Museum of the Celts and the Libramont-Chevigny local authorities gives the Museum a “para-communal” status.

In 2005, the Museum was recognised as a Tourist Association by the Commissariat Général au Tourisme, which means that grants can be awarded for tourist advertising. Following on from a new decree and its implementing rulings (published on 1 March 2007), the Museum submitted its application, and in 2011, was recognised as a Tourist Attraction by the Commissariat Général au Tourisme. This recognition means that, among other things, grants can be awarded for tourist facilities.

“Tourist Attraction” recognition – 2 suns.

The Province of Luxembourg is also involved with museum funding, including in particular for scientific research, educational activities, exhibitions, and day-to-day management.

In 2008, the Museum of the Celts was recognised by the Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. This recognition as a museum, which needs to be renewed on a regular basis, entitles the Museum to a significant grant, but also demands compliance with a number of criteria.

“Musée” recognition – category C.

The archaeological digs carried out by the CRAA were awarded subsidies granted by the Archaeology Department of the Service Public de Wallonie.

Last but not least, the Museum of the Celts also receives employment grants (APE and Maribel).

The Museum of the Celts has recently been awarded a number of labels, demonstrating its commitment to a number of goals:

The “Wallonie Destination Qualité” label shows that the Museum is committed to improving its services, its welcome and visitor satisfaction. Particular efforts will be made to welcome older visitors and access to the premises for the elderly.

The “Bienvenue Vélo” label adds the Museum to a network that is both local (the initiative is heavily supported by the Pays de Saint-Hubert Tourist Information Office) and much more widespread (Wallonia is committed to making the area attractive to cyclists in the medium term).

AccueilLe musée> Qui sommes-nous ?

Le Musée

Unique en Belgique par ses collections, le Musée des Celtes est établi au cœur de la province de Luxembourg, dans une région qui compte de nombreux champs de tombelles celtiques.

Il a ouvert ses portes à Libramont en juin 1998 et conserve le produit de plus de trente années de fouilles menées sur des sites celtiques en Ardenne.

Le CRAA – Centre de Recherches Archéologiques en Ardenne

C’est le Centre de Recherches Archéologiques en Ardenne (CRAA) qui a créé et gère le Musée de Celtes.

Le CRAA a été créé en 1985 et reconnu comme association sans but lucratif (asbl). Il a pour objet la mise en valeur du patrimoine archéologique de l’Ardenne belge.

À cette fin, le Centre développe ses activités autour de trois pôles :

  • la recherche scientifique,
  • l’information au public,
  • la sauvegarde du patrimoine.

Le CRAA traite toutes les périodes, de la Préhistoire au Moyen Âge, mais son principal centre d’intérêt est l’époque celtique. Le CRAA est surtout connu pour ses nombreuses recherches sur les tombelles celtiques ardennaises. Cette spécialisation, ainsi que le souci de préserver le matériel archéologique issu des fouilles et de le mettre à la disposition du public, a conduit le CRAA à créer en juin 1998 un musée relatif aux Celtes.

Ainsi, le Centre et le Musée sont intrinsèquement liés.

Visions, déontologie et missions

Au travers de nos activités, nous voulons faire transparaître l’identité des Celtes (savoir qui ils sont, quand et où ils ont vécu, les différentes populations dont ils sont composés…) ainsi que l’héritage qu’ils nous ont laissé.

Vision de l’accueil

Le Musée est facilement abordable pour le public scolaire et familial, ainsi qu’à toute personne intéressée d’en savoir plus sur les Celtes et sur les découvertes faites en Ardenne.

Déontologie

Pour étudier les Celtes, nous utilisons les méthodes des sciences historiques, ainsi que l’archéologie. Cette dernière discipline, par définition, se base sur l’étude des restes matériels. Leur interprétation laisse de nombreuses zones d’ombre, en particulier dans les domaines moins tangibles tels que la mentalité, les croyances et les valeurs.

Nous préférons rappeler les limites de notre savoir plutôt que d’extrapoler sur des bases insuffisantes.

Par ailleurs, depuis le XIXe siècle, l’image de “nos ancêtres les Gaulois” est parfois utilisée à des fins politiques et nationalistes : nous estimons une telle récupération idéologique hors de propos.

Missions

En tant que Musée officiellement reconnu par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, nos missions sont les suivantes : l’acquisition de collections, leur conservation et leur préservation, la recherche scientifique et la diffusion des informations.

Elles sont donc en accord avec les missions de l’asbl.

L'équipe

Véronique Hurt

Recherche scientifique

Robert

Animation
Préparation logistique

Florence

Gestion stratégique et journalière / Conservateur AI
Promotion
Prévention – Sécurité

Catherine

Comptabilité, gestion administrative
Boutique
Réservations groupes

Julie

Gestion pédagogique – Guide
Bibliothèque
Organisation d’événements

Damien

Soutien Informatique et nouvelles technologies
Multimédia

Anne-Sophie

Soutien au Conservateur
Soutien pédagogique – Guide-Animation

Nos reconnaissances et soutiens

Le fonctionnement du CRAA et du Musée est partiellement assuré par les recettes générées par ses activités.

Toutefois, sur le plan financier, l’Administration communale de Libramont-Chevigny, soucieuse de son patrimoine, intervient largement. Elle met ainsi le bâtiment qui abrite le CRAA / Musée des Celtes, gracieusement à disposition et en assume les frais inhérents. L’administration communale a d’ailleurs assumé les frais (subventionnés à concurrence de 60% par la Communauté française, aujourd’hui Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles) liés à l’aménagement du Musée et même au-delà. En outre, elle intervient dans les rémunérations et cotisations sociales des travailleurs.

Ce partenariat CRAA / Musée des Celtes – Commune de Libramont-Chevigny dote le Musée d’un statut para-communal.

En 2005, le Musée a été reconnu comme Association Touristique par le Commissariat Général au Tourisme, ce qui permet l’octroi de subventions en matière de propagande touristique. Suite à un nouveau décret et à ses arrêtés d’applications (publiés le 1er mars 2007), le Musée fait sa demande et obtient, en 2011, sa reconnaissance comme Attraction Touristique auprès du Commissariat Général au Tourisme. Cette reconnaissance permet, entre autres, l’octroi de subventions à l’équipement touristique.

Reconnaissance “Attraction touristique” – catégorie 2 soleils.

La Province du Luxembourg intervient également financièrement avec ses subventions aux musées notamment pour la recherche scientifique, les animations pédagogiques, les expositions et la gestion courante.

Depuis 2008, le Musée de Celtes a été reconnu par la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. Cette reconnaissance en tant que musée, à reconduire régulièrement, donne droit à une importante subvention, mais implique également de répondre à de nombreux critères.

Reconnaissance “Musée” – catégorie C.

Les fouilles menées par le CRAA ont bénéficié de subventions accordées par la Direction de l’Archéologie du Service public de Wallonie.

Enfin, le Musée des Celtes bénéficie d’aides à l’emploi (APE et Maribel).

Le Musée des Celtes a récemment obtenu plusieurs labels, gages de son engagement à l’égard de plusieurs objectifs:

Le label « Wallonie Destination Qualité » engage le Musée sur la voie de l’amélioration continue de ses services, de son accueil, de la satisfaction de ses visiteurs. Un effort sera notamment fourni à l’égard des aînés et de l’accessibilité des lieux pour les personnes âgées.

Le label « Bienvenue Vélo » inscrit le Musée dans un réseau à la fois proche (l’initiative est fortement soutenue par la Maison du Tourisme du pays de Saint-Hubert) et global (la Wallonie s’engage, à moyen terme, à rendre son territoire attractif pour le vélotourisme).